2014

Almost a year ago to be exact, I planned out my whole 2014. I knew exactly what I was gonna do and I had high expectations. 
Looking back on my year, I'm trying to be happy with how it turned out, cause I have accomplished some pretty amazing and important stuff but it's hard at the same time cause I failed miserably on some things that was very important to me. 

I have challenged myself a lot the past year. I started my 2014 with being sober for 6months. This might be seen as a ridiculous thing for some of my readers but please keep in mind that I'm still young and I absolutely love to go out for a drink and dance until my feet hurt. I also appreciate a beer or maybe a glass of wine with some delicious food or some chocolate. It was a big challenge cause I had to say no and miss out on many great memories with my friends but at the same time I created my own memories and I created my way to accomplish some of my goals. During these 6months I was working out very hard and practicing bowling so much, I was a BEAST in the gym - in my own eyes. I'm not comparing myself to anyone other than myself. I have never been as shaped as I was at the beginning of the summer. 

Not only did I workout, bowl and stay sober. I also overcame one of my biggest fear in life and participated in my very first Half marathon. 21km of pure will. I have always hated running but I managed to do it and I did good. I beat my friends time with 6mins. My time was 2h and 9mins and his was 2h and 15mins. He was the one challenging me and that's what you get ;) 
Oh yea. I might have to add that before running the half marathon I bowled a qualifying match for the guys team I bowl for. Most important match of the year. 2 matches, 4 hours on the lanes, 8 games. We won and qualified for a higher league division. I went straight from the lanes to gothenburg for the half marathon and I was literally running to make the last group out on the 21km long run. Hahaha how crazy is that?

But all good things has a backside. My body took a lot of beating during this period of time. I got some problems with my knees and had to take a break from working out. Thanks to our amazing physiotherapist on the national team I could bowl without any pain and soon also get back on track with my working out. Not as intense though. 

It's starting to sink in now that this past year has been pretty good. 

We are still talking beginning of the summer. I was in the end of my 6months. European Women's Championships in Berlin. Back to back European Champions in trios and silver medalists in team event. There is no better feeling that standing on the podium with a gold medal as a necklace and hearing the swedish national anthem. UNBELIEVEABLE. What is even more perfect is that the whole team got to share the moment cause the other trios team won the silver. 

I was home for two days before packing my bags again and leave to go to USA for my favorite tournament of the year. And here is where I have my second disappointment of the year. My first was my trip to the middle east in march. 3 weeks of bad bowling. I was devastated. Can't remember last time I felt so bad after a trip. 
USA was, as I said, my second.  USBC QUEENS was one of my main goals of the season. I was determined to make the TV show but ended up not even making the matchplay. This is when I also thought I missed out on making my second main goal of the year, the WBT finals. I thought I had to catch up with the girls on this event as it was one of the last tournaments. Luckily for me, I found out later that summer that I still had a chance of making it. A big chance. But there is a few more things I wanna share before that story. 

After such a terrible performance in America, all I wanted was to take a few weeks off bowling and enjoy my free time with my closest friends and family. When I say take some time off, I mean only bowl like once a week ;) haha. Enough about bowling for a while. 

I had THE best summer in my life. I have done so many fun, crazy, exciting things with the most amazing people. I skydived, I spent time on the beach, I danced until sunrise, I went on a great weekend to gothenburg with my favorites, I spent so many days/late evenings on the rooftop at my friends place, I played beerpong in the middle of the street in the middle of the night - why? Cause that's just who we or I am. Spontaneous. I'm absolutely crazy fun when I can be and I'm 100% dedicated when I have to be. That is one thing I have learnt about myself this year. I am dedicated. If I wanna do something, I'll do it and I'll do it a hundred percent. 
I have so many great memories made this summer that I'm still smiling about how ridicoulus and crazy we can be. 

I knew I had to get out of that bubble at some point. I had to start thinking about my future with bowling and work and so on. I decided to make a dream come true by signing up for a school to become a Makeup Artist. I had everything planned out, yet again. Until I recieved the email that was gonna change alot of feeling about my bowling. 
The email said I was still in a good spot for the WBT finals. I just had to book a short trip and bowl to make it. That short trip was a week later to Thailand. We had miscounted the points and all of a sudden I was still in top3, I just had to stay in the spot.

AND I FUCKING DID IT. 

I MADE IT BACK ON THE SHOW. 
Big goal accomplished! 

I also got to spend my birthday in Thailand. Thankful for having so many great friends all around the world, they took such great care of me. 

School started. Early mornings, many hours of train rides but 10 weeks later I finished my last test and I could proudly call myself a certified makeup artist! International Makeup Center is a school I can recommend to anyone that is thinking about taking the class. Bella and Nathalie were amazing teachers, they are so talented and understating. I didn't wanna leave! Again, all good things comes to and end. For me, it took a day for the next adventure to start. 
Last day in school on tuesday.
Las Vegas on Wednesday.
TV show on Sunday.  
First day at work on Thursday.  

I'm gonna save my thought and feelings about the TV show until Jan 25th when the show is on air but I can say I'm excited to watch it. 

Last but not least. 
Another dream came true this year. I signed with Roto Grip and I'm so excited about this. I can't wait to see where this can take me with my career. 

Not a bad 2014 after all? 
Omg I am so blessed. 

Worth mentioning is that I have donated money to 3 different foundations this year. 
And from one thing to another I have actually bowled on TV in two different countries this year and made the newspaper in 3 I belive. Pretty cool. 

A big fat thank you to every single one of you who made this year a year of struggles, relieves, challenges, celebrations, good memories, bad memories, tears and laugther. Family first. I have no words to explain how much you mean to me. I couldn't have done this year as good as it has been with out the support and love you give me. Friends. Made some new great friendships and lost a few but in the end, I wouldn't wanna change it for the world. I am excited to be heading into a new year and new challenges with you guys in my life. 

2015: I am looking forward to see what you have in store for me. My expectations are not as high as last year but my will to make it a successful year is bigger than it has ever been. 

LOTS OF LOVE 
s


(Don't hate me if I have missed out on something in this blog post.  I have worse memories than.. I don't know. But It's bad.)


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

sandraontheroad

This is me. Sandra Andersson. In this blog you get to follow me on my adventures all around the world for bowling.

RSS 2.0